Protests over BLM.

USA is the home of our butchered friend, I understand. We, Generation Z are zealous; we’re using it to right the wrongs, I understand. We want the fire in us to burn the foul practices outside, I even understand that.

But what about the pandemic that is on our heads?

Yes, COVID-19. A real pandemic. A real virus, with subdued consequences. With the masses marching, how can we not expect the pandemic to spread and engulf the country like a monster?

USA is already the worst- hit state, with over 2 Million cases. What do you think will happen if we abandon the principle of social-distancing altogether?

Does it mean I’m against the protests?

Yes. Mass-protests where people are physically coming together and risking one another’s life is definitely not a pragmatic idea in my appeal.

Am I with racial discrimination and with the brutal police?

Never. Loud and clear I say, I am against racial discrimination. I am a person who loves people for their personality; their race, gender, religion are mere ornaments. I love the Black people as much as anyone else, and I duly feel that #Blacklivesmatter.

I genuinely hate the four policemen for what they did. Rather than protecting people, they are oppressing them. They are a spot on the beauty of the world, and so is anyone else who supports injustice.

So, what is my point?

Support George and every other victim. Stand with them, stand for them; but not at the cost of your life.

Virtually protest, because we know the power of social media. And you know what’s even better than protesting? Finishing injustice.

Don’t fight against the four policemen alone; fight against racial discrimination; fight against the mentality of the people who teach that Black lives don’t matter. And more importantly, make sure you’re not promoting injustice, even if involuntarily. Don’t just ‘mock’ at your friends or ‘pull their leg’ because of their colour. Don’t support jokes and campaigns that are racist. Make sure none of your friends/ acquaintances are being subjected to racism.

XOXO.

3 thoughts on “Protests over BLM.

Leave a comment